Credit Where Credit is Due

Foreword 3

This past month, I have been swamped with lettering and graphic design gigs (3 logos, 4 Facebook banners, 2 Facebook profile pictures, 2 flyers, and 2 sets of countdown promotion pictures)! It’s been awesome being able to exercise my talent to serve others, but it’s also proven to be quite challenging because I underestimated how much time and effort it would take to produce each design (I am a perfectionist!).

The lettering shown above is the logo for an outreach concert that occurred this past March. And when asked to design the banner, countdown images, and promotional profile pictures, I was ecstatic to help out! After all, Tim Ouyang from Tim be Told (one of my favorite singers) was performing. I ended up spending 3+ hours tracing the lettering from the scan to get rid of the pixelation on Adobe Illustrator, and many many many more hours trying to keep up with the 15+ edit requests I got from the coordinators leading up to the event. This was all accomplished in the midst of midterm season, and to be honest I was extremely burnt out. And although I didn’t expect to be compensated –I am an amateur after all– I did expect some sort of respect.

Sadly to say, I internalized a lot of my frustration towards the coordinators (and I guess it is revealed through this blog post and I’m sorry) because I felt that they had no consideration for the time it took to make the nine images I was charged with. To me, 15+ edit requests seemed unnecessary because I could have been provided with one master list of editing suggestions, but instead I was expected to be on-call to change one to two details at a time.

What hurt the most was that I was not credited for any of the images at the end of the concert.

And if you think about it, this was very selfish of me.

I started this blog to testify God’s glory through my hand lettering practice. He is my creator, the source of my talent, and it only seems right to credit Him for what He has given to me. Wait –doesn’t that sound familiar? When I was disappointed at not receiving credit for the illustrations, in the same way, God was disappointed in me for not crediting Him for the ability to illustrate. I was so caught up in my own need for recognition that I did not even fathom the hypocrisy of my actions.

This small incident has been extremely humbling for me, and not only did God use this event to remind me of his grace and mercy, but also so that I could first-handedly understand how God feels when I don’t credit Him. For it is written in Colossians 3:17:

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

Soli Deo Gloria.

Leave a Reply

